The State of Texas has the full intention of looking out for the welfare of its children. It provides laws and guidelines to ensure that the adults act responsibly in their treatment of children. Aside from custody, child support and other aspects, the state also has rules for babysitting.
Legal Babysitting Age
Texas law does not have a specified legal age for babysitting. What it does require is a certificate to work for anyone under the age of 18. In this case, the federal law states that the minimum age for anyone to work is 14. Texas allows the parents to choose the private babysitters for their children provided it does not violate federal law.
Texas state law is definitive about in-home babysitting, though. If you want to start an in-home babysitting business, the state will conduct a criminal background check. This is a thorough investigation on the owner and the employees to ensure that they do not have any criminal convictions whether they be sexual in nature or that of violence and abuse.
The law allows you to operate even without a license under certain parameters. The law is very specific on how many children you can take care of. They set the limit at four children. If you take care of more than four children at a time, you are required to register or get a license.
Registered Childcare Home
A registered childcare home takes care of four to six school-age children at a time. They can also take care of up to six middle-aged children aside from these, with the maximum set at twelve. The provider has to clear all background checks and attend an orientation. They also need to comply with on-site inspections to see if they would meet the minimum standards set by the State. There would also be routine inspections every 1 to 2 years.
Licensed Childcare Home
A licensed childcare home in Texas can take care of seven to twelve children under the age of 14. These homes are regularly monitored by the state and they should also undergo strict inspections. They should also provide complete daycare facilities and complete 24-hour residential arrangements.
Childcare Training and Education Standards
Aside from the facilities, the law has clear standards for the childcare operator and the employees. They should possess at least a high school diploma and complete a 15-hour training course that consists of health and safety, early childhood development, and guidance and discipline.
Latest posts by Hutton Law (see all)
- 6 Questions: A Single Parent’s Guide to Marriage - June 26, 2020
- Divorce Tips for Business Owners in Texas - June 23, 2020
- Alienation of Affection: Can I File a Lawsuit against My Spouse’s Lover in Texas? - June 23, 2020
- Is Your Family Ready For a Pet? - June 18, 2020
- Who Owns the Wedding and/or Engagement Rings? - June 18, 2020