Should the time come and you and your spouse decide to get a divorce, it would be good to at least know what you need to do before you file for one. By doing so, you’re at least prepared for it and aware of what you’ll need to get the divorce and what processes you’ll have to undergo to get it.
To be able to file for a divorce in Texas, you should be able to fit into one of two requirements. At least one of you has to be a resident of the state for at least six months before you file for it or you should have at least lived in the country where you are getting the divorce for 90 days. If you fit into either of these, you can continue to file your divorce.
Of course, to file for a divorce, you’ll need to make sure you have your paperwork sorted out. Do your research and find out what documents and forms the state of Texas requires. Also, make sure you’ve filled out the forms properly. You can do the paperwork with the help of a lawyer to be sure that you don’t miss anything. You can also seek the help of knowledgeable friends or those who already went through a divorce.
The process of filing for your divorce will obviously cost you. Make sure you take note of the fees you need to pay for the process. Have a little extra money set aside for any other costs that might come up such as court fees.
The process of getting your divorce finalized will last for at least 60 days. That’s once you get the paperwork done and paid the fees. The sooner you get all the details of your divorce ironed out, the faster the process will go. Be prepared so that everything goes smoothly.
Latest posts by Hutton Law (see all)
- 6 Questions: A Single Parent’s Guide to Marriage - June 26, 2020
- Divorce Tips for Business Owners in Texas - June 23, 2020
- Alienation of Affection: Can I File a Lawsuit against My Spouse’s Lover in Texas? - June 23, 2020
- Is Your Family Ready For a Pet? - June 18, 2020
- Who Owns the Wedding and/or Engagement Rings? - June 18, 2020